Webex Engage enables customers to have better control over their data usage within the application. In addition to encrypting the personally identifiable information of all customers and Webex Engage users(Live Agents, Analysts, Team Managers, and Administrators) within the database, Webex Engage also gives an ability to the customer to invoke the right to be forgotten on Webex Engage. This feature also makes Webex Engage compliant with the right to erasure (Right to be forgotten) as per article 17 of the General Data Protection Regulation(GDPR) enforced by the European Union.
Webex Engage stores customers’ profile information and any previous conversation history of helping agents identify the customers and managers to generate various reports. The customers at any time can request to remove their profile information along with any associated chats history from Webex Engage. Upon receiving this request, Webex Engage removes all the customer-related information (Name, Mobile Number, Email ID, Twitter ID, WhatsApp Number, Apple ID, Twitter Handle, Gender, Locale, and Facebook Profile Picture) and associated chat history from Webex Engage's database.
The customer's chat history is replaced with the text ‘Customer’s request for the right to be forgotten has been processed successfully.’ The Chat ID and any chat-related metrics, such as the chat duration, will remain as is. This information is retained for reporting purposes. In a merged profile, the application will process the entire customer's profile data irrespective of the channel from which the request came. Any active chats on the customer’s profile will be closed with a message to the agent which states that The customer has invoked the right to be forgotten.
Client administrators can configure a keyword that the customers can message to remove their profile and chat information from the system permanently.
Follow these steps to enable right-to-be-forgotten settings:
- Log in as a Client Administrator.
- Under Settings > Right to be Forgotten Settings > turn ON the toggle button On/Off Forget Customer Settings.
Switching ON this toggle button indicates that the client admin is providing the customers with an ability to invoke the request to remove their information from the system. This toggle button is switched OFF by default.
- Enter a Keyword.
- Select an action radio button from following options
- Auto Bounce Back
The client admin can select auto bounce back option when he/she wants to send an automatic response to the customer when the customer messages (sends) the configured keyword.
This option is ideal when the admin wants the customers to initiate the request to be forgotten through one of the configured channels.
- Configure the auto bounce back message.
By default, this option is unchecked, in that case the customer’s profile is processed as soon as the customer messages with the configured keyword.
- Select the Take confirmation from the customer checkbox, to take confirmation from the customer.
- Configure a **Confirmation Keyword**.
- When the customer replies with confirmation keyword:
The configured message is sent to the customer. After that, the following events take place:
- Any open chats on the customer’s profile are closed.
- Agent views a toast message reading ‘This chat is being closed as the customer has invoked the right to be forgotten’.
- All previous chats with the customer’s profile are updated with ‘Customer’s request for the right to be forgotten has been processed successfully’.
If users choose to take confirmation from the customer, any message that the customer sends after initiating the request (i.e. sending the first configured keyword) till the request is either processed or cancelled (based on the customer’s response), will not be seen by the agent on the Chat Console. The agent will only view an announcement reading ‘The customer has invoked the right to be forgotten’. The agent will not be able to send any messages to the customer, until the customer’s request is processed.
- When the customer replies with anything other than confirmation keyword: The configured message is sent to the customer. After that, the customer’s request to be forgotten becomes invalid.
- When the customer does not confirm within 24 hours: The customer’s request to be forgotten becomes invalid and the configured message is sent to the customer.
In addition to the keyword based process, Webex Engage also allows to call an API/Webhook URL to get notified about the Right to be forgotten request from the customer. The request body of this call follows a predefined format and this allows to handle a pre-activity flow outside Webex Engage.
- Select API radio button to initiate right to be forgotten using APIs.
- Enter the API/Webhook URL.
- Click Save Changes.
For Example: When a customer contacts offline, requesting to remove their profile and associated chat information from the systems.
Before processing such requests, admin has to set up a pre-activity flow outside Webex Engage. At the end of the pre-activity flow, admin can call Webex Engage's API to process the customer’s request.
Updated 9 months ago